About Ujjain

Ujjain is a tier 2 city, the largest city of the Indian state of Madhya Pradesh by population. It serves as the headquarters of both Ujjain District and Ujjain Division. A central power city, Ujjain exerts a significant impact upon commerce, finance, media, art, fashion, research, technology, education, and entertainment and has been described as the commercial capital of the state. Located on the southern edge of Malwa Plateau, the city is located 190 km west of the state capital of Bhopal. With a Census-estimated 2011 population of 1,986,864 distributed over a land area of just (6,091 square kilometer)


Due to its location in Central India (approx.76o E, 23o N) , far from the sea, Ujjain has a moderately extreme climate. Winter: In winter(November to February), the night low is around 10oC.At the peak of winter, it can be as low as low as 2 to 3oC. The record low is +1.5oC. summer : During Summer(April-June) the days are hot (35-40oC) with the peak summer (May) day temperature sometimes touching 45c. However , unlike other places in central India, the summer nights in Ujjain are something special. Due to its location on the southern edge of the Malwa Plateau, however hot it may be during the day, in the late evening, cool breeze starts which makes the evenings quite pleasant, referred to as Shab-e-Malwa. Rainfall: Ujjain gets moderate rainfall of 30-35 inches (~80cms) during July-September due to S. W. Monsoon.

General Boundries

The Ujjain District is bounded by the districts of Agar-Malwa to the north, Shajapur to the east, Indore to the south, and Ratlam to the west.


Ujjain district consists of 6 Tehsils, Ujjain, Ghaitya, Mahidpur, Tarana, Bagmagar, Khachrod and Nagda. Number of Blocks in the district is 6 (consisting of 26 Police Stations). There are total 611 Panchayats and 1101 villages in these 6 blocks , in urban areas 1 Nagar Palik Nigam , 9 Nagar Panchayat . Rojadi is one of them which are the first village in which every house has power cabel direct to the transformer. At present, after the delimitation of parliamentary and legislative assembly constituencies , there are 7 Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district: Ujjain (North), Ujjain (South), Khachrod-Ngda, Mahidpur, Tarana, Ghatiya, and Badnagar


Wheat,Black Gram,Bengal Gram,Green Gram ,Lantil,Peas,Soyabean




National Highway No. 3 (NH3 Agra Bombay)
National Highway No. 59 (Ahmedabad Godhra - Ujjain)
National Highway No. 59A (Ujjain Betul Nagpur connecting NH 69)
The Mumbai- Ujjain section of the National Highway No. 3 and the Ahmedabad Ujjain section of the National Highway No. 59 are undergoing multi laning under the NHDP program.
Other important regional highways passing through the city are:
State Highway No. 27 (Jhalawad - Ujjain - Burhanpur)
State Highway No. 31 (Neemach - Ratlam - Dhar)

Local Transport
  • Ujjain City Bus(AC)

Ujjain has a well developed transport system.

Ujjain BRTS()