Disaster Management

Disaster Management Authorities

MPSDMA is a statutory body created under the provisions of Disaster Management Act, 2005 passed by the Parliament. The Act has led to the creation of a three tier system of disaster management in India.

At national level, a National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) has been created which is headed by the Honourable Prime Minister of India with full time Vice-Chairman and a number of experts as its members.

On similar lines, Madhya Pradesh State Disaster Management Authority (MPSDMA) has been created at state level which is headed by Honourable Chief Minister of State, a full time Vice Chairman (with Cabinet Minister rank) and few experts as its Members (with Minister of State rank).

As per the provisions of the act, District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA), headed by District Collectors have been established at district level.